South Central's Chris Cherry named national coach of the year

By  | 

Easton, PA (NHSCA) – The National High School Coaches Association (“NHSCA”) is proud to announce Chris Cherry of South Central High School in Winterville, North Carolina as its National High School Boys’ Basketball Coach of the Year.

This past season, Coach Cherry led South Central to the Class 4A state championship, the first in the school’s history. The team is currently is ranked No. 6 in the USA TODAY Super 25 rankings with a 30-1 record.

In eight of the nine years as South Central’s head coach, Cherry’s teams have won at least 20 games. His career record in 20 years as a head coach is 455-103 with 15 regular season conference championships. Cherry led South Central to a Class 3A state runner-up finish in 2011. When he was head coach at Plymouth High School (North Carolina), he led the school to a state runner-up finish in Class 1A.

“It's truly an honor to win this prestigious award,” said Cherry. “We had a historic season and to cap it off winning the school’s first boys state championship is truly something I will always cherish.”

“We are extremely pleased to honor Coach Cherry,” said Eric Hess, Executive Director of the NHSCA. “He has established South Central as one of the top basketball programs in North Carolina and the nation. He exhibits a strong dedication to supporting and developing his high school student-athletes in the classroom and outside of it.”

Cherry is the first North Carolina coach to be named the NHSCA National Boys’ Basketball Coach of the Year.

Throughout April, the NHSCA will be announcing the 2018-2019 Coach of the Year honorees in 20 boys’ and girls’ sports. This marks the 20th consecutive year the NHSCA has honored achievers within the high school athletic community nationwide.

Each of the honorees will receive a beautiful plaque. In addition, the Coach of the Year honoree will be displayed in the National High School Digital Sports Hall of Fame that is currently under development.

Past NHSCA National Boys’ Basketball Coaches of the Year

2018 – Bucky McMillan – Mountain Brook HS, Alabama
2017 – Tyrone Slaughter – Whitney Young HS, Illinois
2016 – Sharman White – Miller Grove HS, Georgia
2015 – Melvin Randall – Blanche Ely HS , Florida
2014 – Gary McKight – Mater Dei HS, California
2013 – Tony Harper – Montwood HS, Texas
2012 – Douglas Lipscomb – Wheeler HS, Georgia
2011 – Vito Montelli – St. Joseph HS, Connecticut
2010 - Harvey Kitani – Fairfax HS, California
2009 - Jack Curran – Archbishop Molloy, New York
2008 – Dick Katte – Denver Christian HS, Colorado
2007 – Bob Hurley, Sr. – St. Anthony HS, New Jersey
2006 – Jack Keefer, Lawrence North HS, Indiana
2005 – Robert Hughes, Dunbar HS, Texas
2004 – Charles Smith, Peabody Magnet HS, Louisiana
2003 – Dave Garvin, Philomath HS, Oregon
2002 – Jack Butcher, Loogootee HS, Indiana
2001 – Bob Williams, Schaumburg HS, Illinois
2000 – Russell Otis, Dominguez HS, California