ECU's Packard named semifinalist for Dick Howser Trophy

Published: May. 17, 2018 at 10:06 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

DALLAS, Texas – ECU sophomore Bryant Packard has been named one of 35 semifinalists for the 2018 Dick Howser Trophy the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) announced Thursday afternoon. The award, given to the top player in collegiate baseball, is based on two rounds of national voting.

Packard, one of two representatives from the American Athletic Conference, leads the Pirates in eight offensive categories including average (.409), hits (74), home runs (12), runs (42), RBI (45), total bases (122) and slugging percentage (.674), while ranking second in on-base percentage (.466).

The Greenville, N.C. native, who was 2-or-5 against UCONN in the series opener, set the school record for games with a consecutive hit (30) with his single in the fifth inning on Thursday. During his 30-game hit streak, Packard is batting .448 (56-for-125) with 10 home runs, eight doubles, 30 RBI 33 runs scored, 17 multi-hit games and 18 extra base hits.

Packard joins fellow classmate Jake Washer who have been named semifinalists for national awards this season. Washer was one of 16 named to the 2018 Johnny Bench List on Wednesday, May 16 given annually to the nation’s top collegiate catcher.

2018 Dick Howser Trophy Semifinalists (in alphabetical order)

Pos. Name, School

Joey Bart, C, Georgia Tech

Seth Beer, OF, Clemson

Alec Bohm, 3B, Wichita State

Brian Brown, SP, NC State

Michael Byrne, RP, Florida

Chase Chambers, 1B, Tennessee Tech

Kody Clemens, 2B, Texas

Chase Cockrell, DH, Ole Miss

Kole Cottam, 1B, Kentucky

Greg Cullen, SS, Niagara

Will Dalton, OF, Florida

Logan Gilbert, SP, Stetson

Devlin Grandberg, OF, Dallas Baptist

Luke Heimlich, SP, Oregon State

Luke Heyer, 3B, Kentucky

Alex Holderbach, C, Eastern Kentucky

Jonathan India, 3B, Florida

Josh Jung, 3B, Texas Tech

Trevor Larnach, OF, Oregon State

Grant Little, OF, Texas Tech

Jack Little, RP, Stanford

Nick Madirgral, 2B, Oregon State

Casey Mize, SP, Auburn

Bryant Packard, OF, ECU

Adley Rutschman, C, Oregon State

Nick Sandlin, SP, Southern Miss

Braden Schwemake, SS, Texas A&M

Brady Singer, SP, Florida

Bren Spillane, 1B, Illinois

Kevin Strohschein, DH, Tennessee Tech

Chase Strumpf, 2B, UCLA

Spencer Torkerlson, 1B, Arizona State

Andrew Vaughn, 1B, California

Steele Walker, OF, Oklahoma

Will Wilson, SS, NC State

This is the 32nd year of the Dick Howser Trophy. The finalists will be announced on Friday, June 8. The 2018 award will be presented at TD Ameritrade Stadium in downtown Omaha, the home of the College World Series for the seventh year. The winner will be unveiled on MLB Network on Friday, June 15 and then a press conference with the winner will be held on Saturday, June 16 at 10 a.m. (CDT), the opening day of the 2018 CWS.