ECU announces 2017-18 Men's Basketball Roster

Published: Sep. 29, 2017 at 4:14 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

GREENVILLE, N.C. --- ECU Head Men's Basketball Coach Jeff Lebo announced the Pirates' roster for the 2017-18 season Friday, which includes eight returning lettermen, two non-lettermen, and six newcomers.

The Pirates returning a trio of starters led by senior B.J. Tyson, who ranks 17th on the school's all-time scoring list, along with junior Kentrell Barkley and sophomore Jeremy Sheppard. The trio combined for an average of 31.9 points per game (ppg) during the 22 contests in which they played together.

Tyson averaged almost 12 points per game through the first 18 contests, but then missed the next seven games due to injury and was unable to return to form. Barkley led the Pirates in scoring (13. 2 ppg) and rebounding (7.6 rpg) last season and ranks among The American's returning leaders in both categories, while Sheppard was the conference's top rookie assist distributor (3.5 apg).

Rounding out the Pirates' list of returners are junior forward Jabari Craig and sophomore guard Raquan Wilkins along with walk-ons Addison Hill, Justice Obasohan and John Whitley..

Junior guard Isaac Fleming and redshirt freshman guard Shawn Williams, who each sat out last season in compliance with NCAA rules, but were allowed to practice, are fully eligible to participate this season.

ECU welcomes seven newcomers to the team, including Akron graduate transfer Aaron Jackson and Virginia Tech transfer Seth LeDay. Jackson averaged just over eight minutes per game last season while dealing with a shoulder injury. LeDay sat out the 2016-17 campaign for the Hokies following two years at a pair of junior colleges.

Also new to the squad are junior college transfer Usman Haruna from Bismarck State College and scholarship freshmen K.J. Davis, Dimitri Spasojevic and Justin Whatley.

ECU will hold its first official practice on Sunday, Oct. 1, inside the Smith-Williams Center.