Text message scam could give hackers access to your Facebook profile
An Eastern Carolina sheriff's office is sounding the alarm about social media.
Onslow County deputies say people in the area have received a
asking them to resubmit their Facebook information within 24 hours by filling out a link provided.
If you fail to do so, the scammer makes it seem as though your account will be disabled, meaning you'll lose years of online friendships, photo albums and other memories made through the site.
The truth is, you'll lose all that if you
fill out the link.
Deputies say once you fill out the link, you're giving scammers access to your account and they'll now have control of your page.
It's common for the scammer to then start posting ads or messaging your friends and asking for money in a fake emergency, spreading more scams.
To avoid this, experts say you should never open a link from an unknown sender.
They also emphasize paying close attention to the domain. Double check that it is from a legitimate website and that the site is secure by including 'https' in the URL.
When 'https' is included, it adds an additional layer of security because a computer encrypts your information. That means if anyone hacks into the site, they won't be able to read what you actually put in, but a code, instead.
If you or someone you know has fallen victim to this scam, alert your local law enforcement.