9 More NC Counties Eligible For Irene Help

Gov. Beverly Perdue says two more North Carolina counties are eligible for individual assistance to recover from damage caused by Hurricane Irene, while seven more are eligible for public assistance.

Perdue said Saturday that families and business owners in Wayne and Pender counties can seek low-interest grants or loans to help them recover from Irene. That means 35 counties are now eligible for individual assistance.

Seven more counties are eligible for public assistance: Gates, Hertford, Johnston, Northampton, Sampson, Warren and Washington. That means 36 counties are eligible for help covering the costs of storm response, debris removal and infrastructure repairs.

Earlier Saturday, Perdue said farmers in 42 counties are eligible for federal disaster assistance. The U.S. Agriculture Department is providing Farm Service Agency emergency loan assistance to those farmers.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 129595968 - witn.com/a?a=129595968
Gray Television, Inc.