Jameis Winston Wins The Heisman Trophy

NEW YORK (AP) - And the Heisman Trophy winner for 2013 is...Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston.

The 19-year-old Winston is the second freshman to win the award, one year after Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel captured it in his first season. Winston also is the third Seminole to win it, joining fellow quarterbacks Charlie Ward and Chris Weinke.

Winston set FBS freshman records with 3,820 yards passing and 38 touchdown passes while leading the No. 1-ranked Seminoles to a 13-0 record and berth in the BCS championship game. His 190.6 passer efficiency rating is tops in the country and on pace to set an NCAA record.

It caps an award-winning week for Winston, who was selected the Walter Camp player of the year and received the Davey O'Brien Award as the best college quarterback. His road to the Heisman was cleared last week when prosecutors in Tallahassee, Fla., did not file charges of sexual assault against Winston.