Hardy Named To 2014 Biletnikoff Award Watch List

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. ­ For the second-straight year, East Carolina¹s Justin Hardy has been named to the Biletnikoff Award Watch List, according to an announcement by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TOC) Foundation Tuesday.

A native of Vanceboro, N.C., Hardy has also been named to the Maxwell Award (America¹s College-Player-of-the-Year) and Paul Hornung (most versatile player in major college football) Watch Lists heading into the 2014 season.

A two-time First-Team All-Conference USA receiver, Hardy hauled down an ECU and league-best 114 passes for 1,284 yards a year ago to establish new single-season Pirate records to go along with his eight touchdowns. He also set school career marks for receiving yards (3,047) and TDs (25) last season, and will begin the '14 campaign just three receptions away from breaking Dwayne Harris' record of 268 catches.

The Biletnikoff Award recognizes the outstanding receiver, not merely a wide receiver and the award recipient is selected by the highly distinguished Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of over 200 prominent college football journalists, commentators and former receivers. Receivers may be added to the watch list as their season performances dictate. This season, the Biletnikoff Award winner will be announced as part of ESPN¹s The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on December 11.

East Carolina, which will play its inaugural campaign in the American Athletic Conference this fall under fifth-year head coach Ruffin McNeill, was 10-3 in 2013 and successfully completed the program's seventh postseason appearance in the last eight years with a 37-20 win over Ohio in the Beef 'O' Brady's Bowl.

The Pirates will open the 2014 season at home against North Carolina Central inside Dowdy-Ficklen Stadium on August 30 with an 8 p.m. (ET) scheduled kickoff.

Pirate On Preseason Watch Lists
· Shane Carden ­ CFPA Quarterback Trophy Watch List, Maxwell Award Watch List, Touchdown Club of Columbus (Ohio) Watch List
· Maurice Falls ­ Butkus Award Watch List
· Justin Hardy ­ CFPA Wide Receiver Trophy Watch List, Biletnikoff Award Watch List, Hornung Award Watch List, Maxwell Award Watch List, Touchdown Club of Columbus (Ohio) Watch List
· Montese Overton ­ CFPA Linebacker Trophy Watch List