ECU's Williams Named To Stopper Midseason Watch List

GREENVILLE, N.C. – East Carolina senior Ryan Williams has been named to the 50-man midseason watch list for the NCBWA Stopper-of-the-Year Award, which is given to the nation’s top collegiate reliever, the organization announced Wednesday afternoon.

Williams became the first Division I pitcher to win 10 games this season after earning a victory over North Carolina on April 22. He owns a 10-2 record with five saves in 24 appearances, picking up a win or a save in 15 of the Pirates 25 victories.

The Morgan Hill, Calif., native has struck out 55 batters while walking just six and ranks 10th nationally in strikeout-to-walk ratio (9.2). Williams has allowed 19 runs (13 earned) in 68.2 innings and has registered a 1.70 ERA.

Nominations for the NCBWA Stopper-of-the-Year Award were made by baseball sports information/media relations contacts. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 4, prior to start of NCAA Super Regional tournament competition.

The NCBWA's All-America Committee will select the winner, with this year's recipient to be announced on Saturday, June 14, during the 2014 College World Series.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper-of-the-Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006 and Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007. Georgia's Joshua Fields topped the field in 2008, San Diego State's Addison Reed grabbed the honor in 2009 and Texas' Chance Ruffin earned the honor in 2010. Corey Knebel of Texas won in 2011 with Southeastern Louisiana's Stefan Lopez picking up the honor in 2012 and David Berg of UCLA was crowned the winner in 2013.