ECU Women’s Basketball Schedule Announced

GREENVILLE, N.C. – In conjunction with the release of the full American Athletic Conference schedule, East Carolina announced its complete women’s basketball slate for the 2014-15 season Thursday afternoon.

East Carolina will begin play in The American on Dec. 28 at USF at 6:30 p.m., in a contest that will be televised nationally on ESPNU. The Pirates will host back-to-back NCAA champion Connecticut in its American home opener on Dec. 31 in a game that will be broadcast by SportsNet NY (SNY).

The Pirates will start the regular season at the URI Tip-Off in Kingston, R.I., on Friday, Nov. 14 where they will take on Fairfield at 2 p.m., before challenging host Rhode Island the following day at 3 p.m.

After three home contests in five days, including the home opener against College of Charleston on Wednesday, Nov. 19 at 7 p.m., and followed by Delaware and Bethune Cookman, ECU will head to tropical Grand Bahama Island for the Junkanoo Jam Nov. 27 and 28 where it will face Syracuse at 2 p.m., on Thanksgiving Day, before meeting the winner or loser of the Wisconsin and South Carolina matchup.

The month of December will tip off with three road games at Cleveland State, Ohio University and Loyola (Md.) before an 11-day break for final exams and one last non-conference matchup at Norfolk State.

After battling USF and UConn to open the conference campaign, East Carolina will open 2015 with a full slate of league games, including home-and-home matchups against Memphis, Tulane, Houston, Tulsa, SMU and Cincinnati.

The Pirates will also play at UConn Jan. 28 and host USF Feb. 15 in games that will be televised again by SNY and ESPNU, respectively. ECU will close the regular season and American Conference play with matchups at Temple on Feb. 28 and home versus UCF on March 2.

The American Conference Tournament will be held March 6-9 at Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Conn. The format comprises three first-round games (Fri., March 6), followed by four quarterfinal games (Sat., March 7); two semifinals (Sun., March 8) and the championship game (Mon., March 9).