ECU Inducts 5 Into Hall Of Fame

GREENVILLE, N.C. --- Five new members will be inducted into the East Carolina University Athletics Hall of Fame during an induction ceremony Nov. 8 inside the Pete and Lynn Murphy Center. The five-member class includes Sylvia Bragg (women's basketball), Don Harris (men's basketball), Tammy Putnam-Lenox (swimming and diving), Harold Randolph (football) and Carter Suggs (track and field).

Former quarterback David Garrard and head football coach Steve Logan, who were each elected to the Hall of Fame last year but unable to attend the induction ceremonies, will be officially enshrined on this evening as well.

The seven members being inducted will be honored during special ceremonies surrounding the Pirates' football game with Tulsa on Nov. 9 at Dowdy-Ficklen Stadium. They will be recognized during halftime of the ECU men's basketball season opener following the induction ceremonies as well.

In addition, the 1963 9-1, Eastern Bowl Championship football team will be recognized as a team of distinction during the weekend as part of the 50th Anniversary celebration of the Dowdy-Ficklen Stadium.

Bragg was voted the first-ever Colonial Athletic Association (CAA) Women's Basketball Player-of-the-Year in 1986 during the league's inaugural season. Under coaches Cathy Andruzzi and Emily Manwaring, Bragg was a three-time all-conference selection, graduating as the fourth-leading scorer in school history with over 1,300 points. She was also named to the CAA Silver Anniversary Team in 2011.

A three-time All-Conference USA selection, Garrard led ECU to 29 victories and three bowl game appearances from 1998 to 2001, and in the process, established 28 school passing and total offense records. A four-year letterman, Garrard holds the school records for passing yards (9,029) and total offense (10,238). Upon graduation, Garrard held four of the top-10 passing performance seasons in Pirate lore, along with the career record for completions (666).

Harris, who is being inducted posthumously, was a four-year starter on the men's basketball squad from 1954-57 and was a three-time All-North State Conference player. As a junior in 1956, Harris helped the Pirates win the North State Conference championship and advance to the NAIA National Championship tournament. He averaged approximately 20 points per game for coach Howard Porter and was honored as a team co-captain as senior.

Logan roamed the ECU sidelines as its head football coach for 11 years (1992-2002) and won more games (65) than any of his predecessors or successors. He guided the Pirates to five bowl games and six winning seasons, including four seasons with at least eight wins. His 1995 team posted a 9-3 record and finished the year ranked No. 23, the last time the Pirates were in a final top-25 poll, capped by a win over Stanford in the Liberty Bowl.

Putman-Lenox is one of the most decorated swimmers in the illustrious history of the ECU program. Under the director of coach Ray Scharf, she was a seven-time All-America swimmer. She earned All-America honors in five events as a freshman in 1980 and in a pair of events the following year. Twice she collected All-America honors in the 200 IM and the 800 Free Relay.

A two-time honorable mention All-American, Randolph holds the ECU career record for tackles with 493. During his four-year career, he led the Pirates in tackles three times and was twice named an All-Southern Conference performer. He was the first player in school history to amass more 160 tackles in a season with 166 in 1977. That total currently stands fourth on the school's single-season list.

Suggs, who passed away at the age of 56 in January 2012, helped the Pirates win three Southern Conference Track And Field titles during his four-year career under coach Bill Carson. As a freshman he won five events at the 1975 championships and was named MVP of both the indoor and outdoor championship meets. A year later he captured the 100-meter title after winning the 100-yard dash as a freshman.

Since it was established in 1974, 144 former student-athletes, coaches and administrators have been elected to the ECU Athletics Hall of Fame.