K-Tribe's Mike Sarbaugh Wins Manager Of The Year

kinston indians

Mike Sarbaugh is the Carolina League Manager of the Year after leading the K-Tribe to an 82-52 record so far this season. On the diamond Kinston leads the Carolina League with four All-Star Selections as catcher Max Ramirez, third baseman Wes Hodges, shortstop Josh Rodriguez and reliever Scott Roehl took end of year honors.

Sarbaugh’s club won 45 games on their way to a first half title and leads the second half race by two games. The second year manager of the K-Tribe is in his fifth overall year of managing in the Cleveland Indian’s Minor League System. Sarbaugh’s 2006 K-Tribe club won the Carolina League Championship; he captured a New York-Penn League Championship with the Short Season A Mahoning Valley Scrappers in 2003. This is the first Manager of the Year honor in Sarbaugh’s career.

Relief pitcher Scott Roehl leads the Carolina League with 23 saves. The University of Arkansas product is 4-0 with a 2.72 ERA in team high 43 appearances for the K-Tribe this season.

Short stop Josh Rodriguez overcame a slow first half of the season, hitting .282 with 14 home runs and 45 RBI in the second half. Rodriguez is currently third in the Carolina League with 20 home runs and fourth in the CL with 80 RBI. The Rice University product is second in the league with eight triples and third in the CL with 78 runs scored.

Third Baseman Wes Hodges, in his first professional season, is hitting .278, with 14 home runs and 67 RBI for the K-Tribe. Hodges owns the second longest hitting streak in the Carolina League this season, with a 20 hit tear in June.

Former K-Tribe catcher Max Ramirez rounds out the All Star group. Ramirez hit .303 with 12 home runs and 62 RBI before being traded to the Texas Rangers at the end of July.