Jackie Robinson Honored in Majors

jackie robinson

Los Angeles, CA - The Los Angeles Dodgers are one of 6 teams who will have every player in uniform wearing the number 42 to honor Jackie Robinson on Sunday. Today marks the 60th anniversary of Robinson breaking through the color barrier with the Brooklyn Dodgers. The league retired the number 42 for all of baseball in 1997. Only Mariano Rivera of the Yankees still wears the number on a regular basis because he wore it before it was retired.

Teams Honoring Robinson:
Wearing No. 42

CB Bucknor (umpire)
Orlando Hudson
Bob Melvin (manager)
Chris Young
Tony Clark
Scott Hairston
Lee Tinsley (coach)

Andruw Jones

Baltimore | Postponed
Corey Patterson

Boston | Postponed
David Ortiz
Coco Crisp

Chicago Cubs
Derrek Lee
Jacque Jones
Cliff Floyd
Daryle Ward
Lester Strode (coach)
Gerald Perry (coach)

Chicago White Sox
Jermaine Dye
Harold Baines (coach)
Razor Shines (coach)
Alex Cintron
Jim Thome

Ken Griffey Jr.

C.C. Sabathia
Josh Barfield
Grady Sizemore

LaTroy Hawkins
Gary Sheffield
Curtis Granderson
Craig Monroe
Marcus Thames
Lloyd McClendon (coach)

Dontrelle Willis

Houston | Postponed
Whole team

Kansas City | Postponed
Reggie Sanders
Emil Brown

Los Angeles Angels | Postponed
Gary Matthews Jr.

Los Angeles Dodgers
Whole team

Whole team

Torii Hunter
Rondell White
Jerry White (coach)

New York Mets | Postponed
Willie Randolph (manager)

New York Yankees
Mariano Rivera
Robinson Cano
Derek Jeter
Joe Torre (manager)

Milton Bradley
Tye Waller (coach)
Shannon Stewart

Philadelphia | Postponed
Whole team

Pittsburgh | Postponed
Whole team

St. Louis
Whole team

San Diego
Mike Cameron

San Francisco | Postponed
Barry Bonds

Arthur Rhodes
Jason Ellison
Adrian Beltre
Jose Lopez
Miguel Batista

Tampa Bay
Carl Crawford

Ron Washington (manager)
Kenny Lofton
Jerry Hairston, Jr.
Gary Pettis (coach)

Frank Thomas
Vernon Wells
Royce Clayton
Mickey Brantley (coach)

Washington | Postponed
Dmitri Young