17 Mount Olive Student-Athletes Honored

mount olive

MOUNT OLIVE, N.C. – Seventeen Mount Olive College student-athletes were among the inaugural recipients for the 2007-08 Division II ADA Academic Achievement Awards, it was announced Thursday by the Athletics Directors Association. The award recognizes NCAA Division II student-athletes who have earned at least a 3.5 cumulative grade point average and have been enrolled in college for a minimum of two years (four semesters).

Mount Olive was one of three Conference Carolinas schools with award recipients, joining Barton and Coker. Mount Olive had the most academic achievement award winners among the three schools.

The 17 Mount Olive student-athletes represent 11 Trojan varsity sports. Mount Olive’s national championship baseball team led the way with five honorees, followed by softball with three. Men’s soccer and women’s volleyball each had two recipients. Below is the list of Trojan award winners:

Kat Cahoon, Softball
David Cooper, Baseball
Weston Curles, Baseball
Adrian Daniels, Men's Soccer
Emily Escolas, Women's Soccer/Women’s Tennis
Camilo Guerci, Men's Volleyball
Bailey Harrell, Softball
Jenny Jackson Softball
Jesse Lancaster, Baseball
Sierra Medeiros, Women's Basketball
Sam Mitchell, Women's Volleyball/Women’s Track and Field
Indradeep Mitra, Men's Tennis
Mick Moberg, Men's Golf
Paul Novicki, Baseball
Megan Sanderson, Women’s Volleyball
Jason Sherrer, Baseball
Chase Smith, Men's Soccer