College World Series In Omaha Extended 25 Years

The NCAA will keep the College World Series in Omaha, Neb., through 2035 under an unprecedented 25-year contract extension.

The baseball championship has been in Omaha each year since 1950. The new agreement will take effect in 2011 when the CWS moves from Rosenblatt Stadium to a 24,000-seat downtown ballpark.

NCAA president Myles Brand said Thursday the city's commitment to a new stadium was a factor in the long extension.

The 2008 series begins Saturday. The eight teams in the field are: Georgia, Florida State, Rice, Stanford, North Carolina, LSU, Fresno State and Miami.


We encourage commenting on our stories to give you a chance to express your opinion. We rely upon the online community to report abuse. Repeat violators may be banned from posting comments. CLICK HERE for the guidelines for posting comments. powered by Disqus