Tar Heels’ Ackley A Semifinalist For Wallace Award

North Carolina sophomore Dustin Ackley is one of eight semifinalists for the 2008 Brooks Wallace National Player of the Year Award, the College Baseball Foundation announced Tuesday. Ackley, who has helped lead the Tar Heels to their third straight College World Series berth, is batting a team-high .408 with 79 runs scored and 50 RBI.

A two-time All-America and the 2007 national freshman of the year, Ackley owns a .405 career batting average, which is tops in school history, and he is the only player in UNC history to post a pair of 100-hit seasons. This year, Ackley’s .408 average is the fourth-best in school history, and his 79 runs scored are just one off the school record. He has added 50 RBI, 20 doubles, seven home runs and 18 stolen bases.

“I am proud of the committee and selections they have made through the season,” said Brooks Wallace Award Chair Raymond Richardson. “The eight young men in contention for the Wallace Award are exactly what we look for to represent the work ethic and character that Brooks Wallace possessed.”

2008 Brooks Wallace Award Semifinalists
Yonder Alonso - Miami
Dustin Ackley - North Carolina
Gordon Beckham - Georgia
Sawyer Carroll - Kentucky
Aaron Crow - Missouri
Brian Matusz - San Diego
Buster Posey - Florida State
Brett Wallace - Arizona State