Kemp Named Semifinalist For Johnny Bench Award

East Carolina senior catcher Corey Kemp has been named as one of the 12 semifinalists for the 2008 Coleman Company-Johnny Bench Award delivered by AT&T and Papa John's Pizza the Greater Wichita Area Sports Commission announced today.

Kemp, who has also been named on the 50-man 2008 Dick Howser Watch List, has helped the Pirates to a 36-16 record, while batting a team second-best .361 with 14 home runs and 62 RBI. The Franklin, Tenn. native is the second player in school history to be named to the Watch List, following 2006 Johnny Bench winner Jake Smith.

The award is presented annually at the Greater Wichita Sports Banquet to the nation's top collegiate catcher, as voted on by the national voting committee which is comprised of sportswriters, sportscasters, Division I coaches and scouts.

The Coleman Company-Johnny Bench Award semifinalists (in alphabetical order):
Mitch Abeita, University of Nebraska
Jason Castro, Stanford University
Dock Doyle, Coastal Carolina University
Kevin Dubler, Illinois State University
Tim Federowicz, University of North Carolina
Jake Jefferies, University of California, Davis
Corey Kemp, East Carolina University
Petey Paramore, Arizona State University
Josh Phegley, Indiana University
Buster Posey, Florida State University
Shea Robin, Vanderbilt University
Adam Zornes, Rice University.

Statistical information will be compiled on each of the semifinalists and sent to the national voting committee for a vote to determine the three finalists. The finalists will be announced June 3, 2008.

A final vote among the national selection committee will occur during the College World Series. All three finalists and their coaches will be invited to Wichita for the 11th Annual Greater Wichita Sports Banquet on June 27, 2008 in Wichita. Johnny Bench will present the award to the recipient.