36 ECU Pirates Earn Academic Honors

East Carolina University

IRVING, Texas - A total of 36 East Carolina student-athletes have earned the Conference USA Commissioner's Academic Medal during the 2007-08 academic year, league officials announced today. The medals are given to those C-USA student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.75 or

The men's swimming and diving, women's soccer and women's tennis team each had five student-athletes earn a medal. The men's golf and softball team each had four medal recipients.

More than 300 student-athletes who compete in Conference USA were medal recipients. For the second year in a row, Tulsa had the most academic medal winners with 41, followed by Memphis with 38, SMU with 37 and East Carolina. The total number of academic medal recipients increased by four percent this season.

The following is a complete list of the ECU medal winners, listed by sport:

Women's Basketball (1)
Kim Gay

Women's Cross Country (3)
Lisa DeLorenzo
Hayley Flynn
Samantha Lichtner

Football (1)
Joseph Sloan

Men's Golf (4)
Cory Amory
Tripp Brizendine
Markus Leandersson
Anthony Reale

Women's Golf (1)
Jennifer O'Connor

Women's Soccer (5)
Madison Keller
Sarah Kirkley
Jen Kurowicki
Nicole Moore
Anastasia Nikas

Softball (4)
Cristen Aona
Britt Howell
Charina Sumner
Kaui Tom

Men's Swimming (5)
Blake Briese
Nathan Coffey
Geoff Handsfield
Brian Schmitt
Andrew Stoker

Men's Tennis (3)
Jaroslav Horvath
Henrik Skalmerud
Henrique Viana

Women's Tennis (5)
Jessica Cook
Sheelah Iyengar
Hannah Priest
Alex Smith
Brooke Walter

Women's Track & Field (2)
Tara Bright
Stephanie McDougal

Volleyball (2)
Lisa Grismer
Katie Koop