League Says Billups Bucket Shouldn't Have Counted

The NBA admits Chauncey Billups' 3-pointer at the end of the third quarter of last night's Detroit-Orlando playoff game should not have counted.

League president Joel Litvin also said referees weren't allowed to review instant replay after the clock malfunction was discovered. The shot gave Detroit a 78-76 lead in its 100-93 victory.

Litwin says the entire play in question actually took approximately 5.7 seconds to complete. There were only 5.1 seconds remaining in the period when the play began.

Billups was bringing the ball up the court for the Pistons when the clock froze at 4.8 seconds because of a problem with the arena's timing system. After he made the shot, the game referees had to estimate how long the play took without the aid of replay because the league's rules don't allow for reviewing a play to determine when the clock started.




 
We encourage commenting on our stories to give you a chance to express your opinion. We rely upon the online community to report abuse. Repeat violators may be banned from posting comments. CLICK HERE for the witn.com guidelines for posting comments.
powered by Disqus