Lou Holtz Among 15 Headed To Hall Of Fame

Troy Aikman, Billy Cannon and Lou Holtz are
among the 15 former players and coaches elected today to the
College Football Hall of Fame.
Aikman started his college career at Oklahoma, then transferred
to UCLA. After stellar seasons with the Bruins in 1987 and 88, he
was drafted first overall by the Dallas Cowboys.
Holtz coached six schools to 249 victories in a career that
spanned more than 30 years. He won a national title with Notre Dame
in 1988.
Cannon played tailback for LSU from 1957-59, winning the Heisman
Trophy his senior year.
The other 11 players chosen by the National Football
Foundation's selection committee are Virginia offensive tackle Jim
Dombrowski; Northwestern linebacker Pat Fitzgerald; Florida
linebacker Wilber Marshall; Washington State running back Ruben
Mayes; Arizona State guard Randall McDaniel; Syracuse quarterback
Don McPherson; Wyoming tight end Jay Novacek; Texas Tech split end
Dave Parks; Florida State nose guard Ron Simmons; Oklahoma State
running back Thurman Thomas, and Army quarterback Arnold Tucker.
John Cooper, who went 192-84-6 with Tulsa, Arizona State and
Ohio State, is the other coach selected for induction.
The latest class will be inducted at the NFF banquet in New York
in December and enshrined in the summer of 2009 at the Hall of Fame
in South Bend, Indiana.