Greg Ellis Named Comeback Player Of the Year

After missing the final nine games of the 2006
season and the first three games of the current campaign due to a
debilitating Achilles' tendon injury, Cowboys linebacker Greg Ellis
put on a performance that has earned him the AP's NFL Comeback
Player of the Year award.
Ellis received 12 votes in the balloting by a nationwide panel
of 50 media members who regularly cover the league. Patriots
receiver Randy Moss was the runner-up with 10 votes.
Steelers quarterback Ben Roethlisberger as third with seven votes.
Green Bay quarterback Brett Favre got five votes, as did
Cleveland running back Jamal Lewis.
Ellis went from a nonfactor in Dallas to a Pro Bowler in his new
position after spending most of his career as a defensive end. He
had 12 and a-half sacks, forming a dynamic pass-rushing force with
All-Pro linebacker DeMarcus Ware.
Ellis is the first Cowboy and also the first linebacker to win
the award, which went to Jets quarterback Chad Pennington last


275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 13731747 -
Gray Television, Inc.