ECU Places Five On C-USA All-Freshman Team

Conference USA announced its 2007 Media All-Freshman football team today, as selected by a panel of media members in each conference city. Eleven of the league's 12 schools were represented with at least one selection, while East Carolina placed a league-high five players on the squad.

Leading the way for the Pirates on the All-Freshman team are return men Dwayne Harris and Jonathan Williams. Harris has tallied 245 punt return yards on 29 attempts. He ripped off a career-long run of 46 yards against UTEP on October 13. He also returns kicks and has totaled 731 all-purpose yards so far this season. Williams has totaled 312 kick return yards on 14 attempts for an average of 22.9 yards-per-attempt. He had two kick returns go for more than 40 yards, highlighted by a 63-yard run against North Carolina on Sept. 8.

Joining Harris and Williams on the squad were ECU OL D.J. Scott, DL Linval Joseph and DB Travis Simmons. This marks the second consecutive year that the Pirates have had five All-Freshman selections.

East Division Champion UCF had three selections to the team, led by DL Bruce Miller. Miller has registered 23 solo tackles and 10 assists so far in 2007. The Georgia native has eight tackles for loss and six sacks. Fellow Knight Derrick Hallman earned one of the three spots at linebacker, while Jah Reid was voted in at linebacker.

Rice placed four members on the squad, two on offense and two on defense. Scott Mitchell was selected at offensive lineman, while James Casey took one of the wide receiver spots. Casey finished second for the Owls in catches (46) and yards (585). He finished the season with four touchdowns. Rice took half of the defensive lineman spots as both Scott Soloman and Chetu Ozougwu were recognized for their play in the trenches.

West Division Champion Tulsa placed two freshmen on the team, both on offense. Charles Clay took one of the running back spots, while Trae Johnson joined Casey as the other wide receiver selection. Clay has rushed for 255 yards on 49 carries for one TD. He has also caught 52 passes for 832 yards and five TDs. Johnson has registered a team-high 61 catches so far this season. His 940 receiving yards are second on his team and he has tallied 10 touchdowns.

Houston, Marshall, Memphis, Southern Miss, Tulane, Tulsa, UAB and UTEP all had two selections to the All-Freshman team.

Conference USA will announce its Media Freshman of the Year on Wednesday.

Quarterback - Case Keenum, Houston
Running Back - Darius Marshall, Marshall
Running Back - Charles Clay, Tulsa
Offensive Lineman - D.J. Scott, East Carolina
Offensive Lineman - Josh Evans, Marshall
Offensive Lineman - Dominik Riley, Memphis
Offensive Lineman - Scott Mitchell, Rice
Offensive Lineman - Andrew Nierman, Tulane
Offensive Lineman - Jah Reid, UCF
Tight End - Jeffrey Anderson, UAB
Wide Receiver - James Casey, Rice
Wide Receiver - Trae Johnson, Tulsa

Defensive Lineman - Linval Joseph, East Carolina
Defensive Lineman - Chetu Ozougwu, Rice
Defensive Lineman - Scott Soloman, Rice
Defensive Lineman - Bruce Miller, UCF
Linebacker - Mike Tashman, UAB
Linebacker - Derrick Hallman, UCF
Linebacker - Anthony Morrow, UTEP
Defensive Back - Travis Simmons, East Carolina
Defensive Back - C.J. Bailey, Southern Miss
Defensive Back - Devin Holland, Tulane
Defensive Back - Loyce Means, Houston

Placekicker - Justin Estes, Southern Miss
Punter - Kyle Peterson, UTEP
Kick Returner - Jonathan Williams, East Carolina
Punt Returner - Dwayne Harris, East Carolina
Long Snapper - Keenan Bratcher, Memphis