Padres Have Another Cy Young Award Winner

Jake Peavy is a unanimous choice for the 2007 National League Cy Young Award.

The San Diego Paadres right-hander was named first on all 32 ballots cast by the Baseball Writers' Association of America after leading the senior circuit in victories, earned run average andstrikeouts. Peavy posted a 19-and-6 record with a major league-leading 2.54 ERA and 240 strikeouts.

Last year's recipient, Arizona's Brandon Webb, was the runner-up. The Diamondbacks righty received 31 second-place votes and one third-place mention. He and Peavy were the only pitchers named on all of the ballots.

It's the 12th time an NL pitcher has been a unanimous choice for the honor and the first since Arizona's Randy Johnson in 2002.

The 26-year-old right-hander became the fourth Padres pitcher to win the award, joining reliever Mark Davis in 1989, Hall of Famer Gaylord Perry in 1978 and lefty Randy Jones in '76.


We encourage commenting on our stories to give you a chance to express your opinion. We rely upon the online community to report abuse. Repeat violators may be banned from posting comments. CLICK HERE for the guidelines for posting comments. powered by Disqus