Sabathia Wins AL Cy Young Award

C.C. Sabathia is the winner of the 2007 American League Cy Young Award.

The Cleveland Indians left-hander easily outdistanced Boston right-hander Josh Beckett in the balloting by the Baseball Writers
Association of America. Sabathia was named first on 19 ballots,
while Beckett got eight first-place votes.

Los Angeles Angels righty John Lackey got the only other first-place mention and finished third.

Sabathia went 19-and-7 with a 3.21 ERA. He led the league in innings pitched with 241 and his four complete games tied for second in the junior circuit.

Beckett has a league leading 20 victories to go with seven losses and an ERA of 3.27.

Lackey went 19-and-9 with a league-leading 3.01 ERA.


We encourage commenting on our stories to give you a chance to express your opinion. We rely upon the online community to report abuse. Repeat violators may be banned from posting comments. CLICK HERE for the guidelines for posting comments. powered by Disqus