MLB Rookie of the year Awards Handed Out

Boston second baseman Dustin Pedroia and Milwaukee third baseman Ryan Braun have been elected the American and National League Rookies of the Year by the Baseball Writers.

Pedroia was listed on 24 of 28 ballots submitted by two writers in each city and finished with 132 points while Tampa Bay's Delmon Young was second with 56 points.

Braun nosed out Colorado's Troy Tulowitzki by just two points. Broken down, Braun got 17 first place votes, 14 second place nods and one third place vote while Tulowitzki was given 15 first place votes and 17 second place votes. The two-point differential in the National League voting was the closest in that league since 1980.

Pedroia hit .317 for Boston with 39 doubles and 86 runs scored while Braun hit .324 with 34 home runs and 97 runs batted in.