Former Pirate Johnson Finishes Second To Ryan For Rookie Honor

NEW YORK (AP) -- Matt Ryan is more than the face of the
sensational turnaround by the Atlanta Falcons, he's also the best
member of a superb rookie crop. The former Boston College
quarterback is the winner of The Associated Press 2008 NFL
Offensive Rookie of the Year award.

Ryan, who was selected third overall in April's draft, was a
landslide winner in balloting by a nationwide panel of 50 sports
writers and broadcasters who cover the league. He collected 44
votes to easily outdistance Titans running back Chris Johnson, who
was listed on three ballots. Broncos tackle Ryan Clady had two and
Bears running back Matt Forte got one.

Ryan was brilliant in leading the Falcons to the playoffs with
an 11-and-5 mark a year after going 4-and-12. He ranked 11th in
passer rating at 87.7 and had 16 touchdowns to go with 11

Ryan is the third quarterback in five years to win the award;
before that, no QB ever took the honor. Pittsburgh's Ben
Roethlisberger (RAWTH'-lihs-bur-gur) was the 2004 rookie of the
year and Tennessee's Vince Young was the winner in 2006.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 36891449 -
Gray Television, Inc.