Referees Make Right Call In ECU-Marshall Game

Some ECU fans were more than a little upset with the officiating at Saturday's Homecoming game between East Carolina and Marshall.

One play in particular stood out.

Late in the game with East Carolina forced to punt. Punter Matt Dodge has a kick roll down inside the Marshall five yard line. The Marshall punt returner tries to avoid touching the football and appears on several camera angles to possibly touch the ball before it is recovered by an ECU player for what would have been a Pirate touchdown.

The referees talk it over and decide that the Marshal player did not touch the football giving the Thundering Herd possession. The play was reviewed and was not overturned because of a lack of overwhelming evidence otherwise.

WITN sports director Billy Weaver shot this exclusive video on the sideline that clearly shows the referees made the right call.

You be the judge.l

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

Read Comments

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
  • by The Pirate Lady Location: Grimesland on Nov 14, 2008 at 01:59 PM
    My understanding is that out of 33 games against So. Miss, we've only won like 8. So we definitely need to bring our A game this weekend. Go Pirates!!!
  • by Wayne Location: Wilmington on Nov 14, 2008 at 06:39 AM
    We can all forget it now. The pirates won and that is what counts. I was one of several booing and making a fuss about the terrible call, but forget this, it's time to focus on Southern Miss. Go Pirates! Purple Gold! Arrrrrrrrrrrggggggghhhhhhh!
  • by Sam Location: Williamston on Nov 14, 2008 at 06:31 AM
    I know one of the other cameramen who shot this game and looked at every angle of replay, and even he told me that this was a terrible call. Now how about do not be assuming this because of just one cameraman's opinion. That is not a fact.
  • by EC Location: Sanford NC on Nov 13, 2008 at 12:21 PM
    Thanks to Robert and Chris and Bob for seeing it too! Again... how in this world could the replay guys miss that with the amount of time they took to review it. We sure have had poor luck this year with replays!!!
  • by Robert Location: Raleigh on Nov 13, 2008 at 10:49 AM
    They did not make the right call! Watch the rotation of the ball when the player's left foot goes over the ball. The rotation from end over end stops and the ball lands on its side instead of the nose of the ball. It then bounces straight up instead of continuing on a linear path in which is should on an end over end bounce. You can't see it from this angle, but it does hit him. You can see the player's face in this angle and watch it as he turns around and realizes, he's saying "OH S***!"
  • by Chris Location: Gville on Nov 13, 2008 at 03:57 AM
    Also hit his right, it changes direction ever so slightly there as well. More than anything, the guy's reaction tells it all.
  • by Chris Location: Greenville on Nov 13, 2008 at 03:54 AM
    Definitely hit the back of his leg and changed direction. Because the guys leg blocks the view of it hitting from this angle does not mean that it didn't hit him. Come on.
  • by Dpirate Location: Wendell on Nov 12, 2008 at 07:17 AM
    Looks like the referee made the right call, but they probably thought the ball hit his leg and were trying to screw ECU over.
  • by Bob Location: Raleigh on Nov 12, 2008 at 07:12 AM
    Are you blind it hit the back of his heel and changed directions. Good video bad call
  • by EC Location: Sanford NC on Nov 12, 2008 at 05:02 AM
    Thanks Bill... Oh, I'm over it. Actually over it after it the call was made. We won regardless of how the call went. However, the video does show a change in the ball's movement as it neared his right leg. Now... it could have been the wind, or a ghost... No matter though, 'cause we won:-)
  • Page:

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 34240294 -
Gray Television, Inc.