ECU'S Davis Named C-USA League MVP

GREENVILLE, N.C. – Following his selection Wednesday as the Conference USA Newcomer-of-the-Year, East Carolina junior Dominique Davis was named the league’s most valuable player and most valuable offensive player by the organization announced Friday.

This season, Davis led the Pirates to a record-breaking offensive campaign. He has accounted for 45 of ECU’s single-season best 58 offensive touchdowns and is currently the FBS leader in points per game responsible for (22.7) and completions per game (29.8) while tying for the top spot in touchdown passes (36). ECU has also established single-year marks in total points (458) and points in Conference USA games (346).

The Lakeland, Fla., native has already rewritten the Pirate record book in numerous single-season passing categories, including attempts (552), completions (358), yards (3,699) and touchdown passes (36). Davis has also made his mark on the Conference USA single-year lists, standing second in attempts, third in completions and sixth in touchdown passes.

During games against UAB, Navy and Tulsa, the Fort Scott Community College transfer tied the ECU standard with five touchdown passes. Davis is the C-USA leader in 300-yard passing games this season with eight, three more than any other league quarterback, and is one of four quarterbacks at the FBS level averaging over 300 yards per contest (308.2). After just one season, he owns three of the top 10 ECU passing performances in Dowdy-Ficklen Stadium history.

Also a running threat, Davis’ nine ground scores are good for second on the squad and are the most for a Pirate quarterback since Leander Green’s QB-record 12 in 1979. Davis also has one game-winning touchdown run to his credit, downing N.C. State with a one-yard plunge in overtime.

ECU’s Dwayne Harris joined Davis on the First Team while Lance Lewis, Willie Smith, Emanuel Davis and Michael Barbour were second-team honorees.

The Pirates play their final game of the season Wednesday, Dec. 29, in the Military Bowl presented by Northrop Grumman at RFK Stadium in Washington, D.C. Kickoff is scheduled for 2:30 p.m. with national television coverage provided by ESPN.

2010 Conference USA Award Winners
League MVP - East Carolina QB Dominique Davis
Offensive MVP - East Carolina QB Dominique Davis
Defensive MVP - Marshall LB Mario Harvey
Coach-of-the-Year - UCF's George O'Leary
Coordinator-of-the-Year - UCF Defensive Coordinator Dave Huxtable
Freshman-of-the-Year - UCF QB Jeff Godfrey

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

Read Comments

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
  • by lkm on Dec 29, 2010 at 12:26 PM
    Dave Huxtable conf usa co-ord of the year, shd be of the country! You deserve it Dave!! You're a great man and a great coach!!
  • by JTG on Dec 13, 2010 at 09:58 AM
    I guess it was slim pickens.
  • by Anonymous on Dec 13, 2010 at 07:19 AM
    ummmm, ok

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 111685434 -
Gray Television, Inc.