ECU’s Career Reception Leader Nominated For Top Receiver Award

IRVING, Texas – East Carolina senior inside wide receiver Dwayne Harris was one of 50 players named to the Biletnikoff Award Watch List. The honor recognizes the top wide receiver in college football.

Harris was the 2009 Conference USA Special Teams Player-of-the-Year and a first-team selection at wide receiver in addition to garnering second-team honors as a kick returner. His 2010 preseason wide receiver awards include First Team All-Conference USA as selected by league coaches, First Team All C-USA by Blue Ribbon College Football Yearbook and second-team all-league by Phil Steele Magazine.

For his kick return duties, Harris was selected to the 2010 Consensus Draft Services Preseason FBS Honorable Mention All-America Team and was tabbed as College Football Performance Awards’ preseason favorite to capture the 2010 Kickoff Returner Trophy. Additionally, he was a Phil Steele Magazine second-team all-league honoree as a kick return specialist.

As a junior, Harris helped the Pirates claim their second consecutive Conference USA Championship and AutoZone Liberty Bowl berth with his Most Valuable Player performance in the league title game against Houston. He tallied nine catches for 123 yards and a touchdown while adding a 69-yard kickoff return versus the Cougars.

Harris hauled in 83 passes for the season, tying him with Aundrae Allison for ECU’s second-most receptions in a year. Harris’ 978 receiving yards were also good for second on the school’s all-time single-season list. The Stone Mountain, Ga., native, is the program’s all-time leader in receptions with 167 while standing second in receiving yards with 1,878, just 104 behind Troy Smith (1995-98).

In Conference USA history, Harris opens the year ranked 16th in all-purpose yards (4,092) and second in kickoff returns for a touchdown with three. Additionally, he is 22 receptions shy of entering the league's top-15 list and 46 yards short of the career return yards top-15 ledger.

Joining Harris on the watch list from C-USA are Houston senior James Cleveland and juniors Tyron Carrier and Patrick Edwards, Southern Miss junior DeAndre Brown and Tulsa junior Damaris Johnson. Only the Atlantic Coast Conference (eight) and Big Ten (seven) had more players named to the watch list than Conference USA.

The award is named for Fred Biletnikoff, the Florida State University All-America receiver and Pro Football Hall of Famer. It has been given out since 1994 with last year’s winner being Notre Dame’s Golden Tate. This season, the 17th Biletnikoff Award recipient will be announced as part of ESPN’s College Football Awards Show Thursday, December 9.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

Read Comments

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
  • by Sam Location: Kitty Hawk on Aug 12, 2010 at 11:17 AM
    To Guess who? I nominate those 2 for loser of the year award, but anyways congratgulations Dewayne and keep up the great work.
  • by Guess Who? on Aug 11, 2010 at 03:59 PM
    I nominate Dave and JDLadd for DA of the year.

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 100378789 -
Gray Television, Inc.