UNC & Duke Dominated All-ACC First Team

Greensboro, N.C. (AP, ACSMA) - North Carolina placed its entire starting frontcourt on the All-Atlantic Coast Conference first team.

The All-ACC teams were announced Monday after a vote of 62 members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA).

Tyler Zeller, John Henson and Harrison Barnes represent the regular-season champion Tar Heels, and they were joined by Virginia's Mike Scott and Duke's Austin Rivers.

Zeller, the only unanimous selection, ranks fifth in scoring (16.3) and second in rebounding (9.3). Henson leads the league with averages of 10.3 rebounds and three blocks. Barnes is third in scoring, averaging 17.4 points.

North Carolina is the second team in league history with three first-teamers and first since Duke in 2002.

Rivers is the seventh freshman to make the first team and first since Tyler Hansbrough in 2006. Scott made a league-best 57.3 percent of his shots.

The Tar Heels beat Duke over the weekend to claim the regular-season crown and the No. 1 seed for the league tournament that begins Thursday in Atlanta.

A fourth Tar Heel, point guard Kendall Marshall, and the league's leading scorer, Maryland's Terrell Stoglin, made the second team. They were joined by Florida State's Michael Snaer, Virginia Tech's Erick Green and N.C. State's C.J. Leslie. Marshall averaged 9.6 assists - matching the highest in league history - while Stoglin scored 21.2 points per game.

The third team consists of Duke's Seth Curry and Mason Plumlee, Wake Forest's C.J. Harris, N.C. State's Lorenzo Brown and Miami's Kenny Kadji.

Henson and Snaer were joined on the all-defensive team by Florida State's Bernard James, Virginia's Jontel Evans and Clemson's Andre Young.

The all-freshman team consisted of Rivers, Boston College's Ryan Anderson, Virginia Tech's Dorian Finney-Smith, Miami's Shane Larkin and Maryland's Nick Faust.

Henson was listed on 61 ballots for the all-defensive team while Rivers and Anderson appeared on 61 ballots for the all-freshman team. ACSMA officials say one voter did not vote for any players for those two teams.

The league will announce its individual award winners - player, coach, rookie and defensive player of the year - on Tuesday.

The All-ACC teams, as announced Monday by ACC following a vote of 62 members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA). First-team votes were worth three points, with second-team votes worth two points and third-team votes worth one point:

Tyler Zeller, North Carolina (186)
Mike Scott, Virginia (184)
John Henson, North Carolina (170)
Austin Rivers, Duke (164)
Harrison Barnes, North Carolina (153)

Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (151)
Terrell Stoglin, Maryland (131)
Michael Snaer, Florida State (127)
C.J. Leslie, NC State (99)
Erick Green, Virginia Tech (70)

Seth Curry, Duke (65)
C.J. Harris, Wake Forest (57)
Lorenzo Brown, NC State (52)
Kenny Kadji, Miami (45)
Mason Plumlee, Duke (43)

Bernard James, Florida State (42); Andre Young, Clemson (35); Travis McKie, Wake Forest (26); Durand Scott, Miami (26).

John Henson, North Carolina (61)
Bernard James, Florida State (54)
Jontel Evans, Virginia (39)
Michael Snaer, Florida State (31)
Andre Young, Clemson (29)

Austin Rivers, Duke (61)
Ryan Anderson, Boston College (61)
Dorian Finney-Smith, Virginia Tech (53)
Shane Larkin, Miami (43)
Nick Faust, Maryland (41)

*One voter did not vote for the all-defensive or all-freshman teams.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

Read Comments

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
  • by Heels Fan on Mar 8, 2012 at 04:10 AM
    how did u come to the conclusion duke dominated??? oh.....ur a duke fan.....lol
  • by Jeff on Mar 6, 2012 at 04:59 AM
    How exactly did Duke "dominate" the All-ACC First Team? They only placed one player on it, as did UVA.
    • reply
      by steve on Mar 7, 2012 at 06:58 PM in reply to Jeff
      I totally agree. Duke gets so much more than they deserve.

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 141474383 - witn.com/a?a=141474383
Gray Television, Inc.