Rodon Named ACC Pitcher & Rookie Of The Year

Freshman Carlos Rodon captured the ACC’s Pitcher of the Year and Freshman of the Year awards, and joined fellow Wolfpackers Chris Diaz, Ryan Mathews, and Trea Turner on the 2012 All-ACC Team, announced Monday by the conference office.

Rodon led the ACC with a blistering 1.59 ERA and a perfect 9-0 record. The freshman ranks second in the league with 114 strikeouts over 96 innings, and leads the ACC in complete games with two. He represents the only freshman remaining on the lists for the Dick Howser Trophy and the Golden Spikes Award.

The Holly Springs, N.C. native marks the first Wolfpack player named ACC Freshman of the Year since Tom Sergio in 1994 (then Rookie of the Year). The last NC State pitcher to earn an ACC yearly award was Mike Caldwell, who took Player of the Year in 1971.

For the first time since 2005, NC State boasts three players on the All-ACC first team, including Rodon. Chris Diaz earned first team honors at shortstop, and Ryan Mathews claimed one of the four outfield spots.

Diaz led the ACC in doubles (23), finished second in hits (80), and fourth in batting average (.369) while anchoring the Wolfpack’s infield. Mathews wrapped up the regular season with a flourish, smashing six home runs over his last seven games to climb to third on the ACC leaderboard (14) and extend the ACC’s longest active hitting streak to 21 games.

Trea Turner made the All-ACC second team as a third baseman after leading the nation with 54 steals on only 58 attempts. Turner needs nine more to tie the ACC single-season record, and has already tied the conference’s single game record with five on April 13 at Clemson. In addition to his base-stealing prowess, Turner hit .340 during his freshman campaign, finishing fifth in the ACC with a .449 OBP.

All three Pack position players on the all-conference team had batting averages listed among the conference’s top 10. NC State had four players batting .340 (Diaz, Mathews, Turner, and Danny Canela) or above to make the top 10, two more than any other team in the conference.

2012 All-ACC Baseball Team

Pete O’Brien, Sr., Catcher, Miami
Jayce Boyd, Jr., First Base, Florida State
Devon Travis, Jr., Second Base, Florida State **
Richie Shaffer, Jr., Third Base, Clemson **
Chris Diaz, Jr., Shortstop, NC State
James Ramsey, Sr., Outfield, Florida State **
Brandon Thomas, Jr., Outfield, Georgia Tech
Ryan Mathews, Sr., Outfield, NC State
Mac Williamson, Jr., Outfield, Wake Forest
Phil Pohl, Sr., DH/Utility, Clemson **
Marcus Stroman, Jr., Starting Pitcher, Duke
Buck Farmer, Jr., Starting Pitcher, Georgia Tech
Kent Emanuel, So., Starting Pitcher, North Carolina
Carlos Rodon, Fr., Starting Pitcher, NC State
Robert Benincasa, Jr., Relief Pitcher, Florida State
Michael Morin, Jr., Relief Pitcher, North Carolina

Jacob Stallings, Sr., Catcher, North Carolina
Mark Zagunis, Fr., Catcher, Virginia Tech
Jake Davies, Sr., First Base, Georgia Tech **
Steve Wilkerson, So., Second Base, Clemson
Keith Werman, Sr., Second Base, Virginia * *
Trea Turner, Fr., Third Base, NC State
Anthony Melchionda, Sr., Shortstop, Boston College
Daniel Palka, So., Outfield, Georgia Tech
Tom Bourdon, So., Outfield, Boston College
Thomas Brittle, Jr., Outfield, Clemson
Brian Holberton, So., DH/Utility, North Carolina
Mike Compton, Fr., Starting Pitcher, Florida State
Brett Harman, Sr., Starting Pitcher, Maryland
Eric Erickson, Gr., Starting Pitcher, Miami
Branden Kline, Jr., Starting Pitcher, Virginia **
Justin Thompson, Sr., Relief Pitcher, Virginia
Michael Dimock, Sr., Relief Pitcher, Wake Forest

Player of the Year – James Ramsey, Florida State
Pitcher of the Year – Carlos Rodon, NC State
Freshman of the Year – Carlos Rodon, NC State
Coach of the Year – Mike Martin, Florida State

** - Two-time first- or second-team selection

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 152337365 -
Gray Television, Inc.