Two More Counties Added for Disaster Unemployment Assistance

Disaster Unemployment Assistance is now available in Pender and Wayne counties from the North Carolina Employment Security Commission, following storm damage from Hurricane Irene. This brings the total of eligible counties to 35.

Governor Perdue says, "The effects of this storm are far reaching. We continue to aggressively work to provide as much relief as possible for individuals and businesses so that they can get back in their homes and back to normal operations."

ESC Chairman Lynn R. Holmes said that North Carolina workers in those counties who became unemployed as a direct result of Hurricane Irene impacting North Carolina, may be eligible for unemployment insurance benefits under the DUA program. Business owners affected by the storm may also qualify for benefits.

Workers or business owners meeting the following criteria may be eligible for benefits: Individuals who are unemployed due to the disaster, and do not qualify for regular unemployment insurance benefits, self-employed individuals and small business owners who lost income due to the disaster, individuals who were prevented from working due to an injury caused by the disaster, individuals who have become the major supplier of household income due to the disaster-related death or injury of the previous major supplier of household income, individuals who are unable to reach their job or self-employment location because they must travel through the affected area and are prevented from doing so by the disaster, individuals who were to commence employment or self-employment but were prevented by the disaster. Affected workers can receive benefits dated back to the week ending September 3, 2011.

Individuals may contact the ESC by calling 1-866-795-8877 to apply for DUA benefits. Individuals are encouraged to file as soon as possible. The deadline for filing an initial claim for DUA is 30 days from the date ESC begins taking claims.

The following other counties are currently approved for DUA: Beaufort, Bertie, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrell, Vance, Warren, Washington, and Wilson.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

Read Comments

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
  • by Disgusted Location: Beaufort County on Sep 12, 2011 at 03:30 PM
    There may not be enough money left to help the needy after Beaufort County gets through. Those incomes should have been checked. I know of several who does not deserve it. A President of a compnay that makes around $90,000 per year. You tell me this is fair. I guess it depends on how bad you lie and your integrity. Does anymore have a phone number to call in these fraud cases to?

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 129665033 -
Gray Television, Inc.