Pine Knoll Shores Mayor Running For Senate Seat

Monday was the first day candidates could file for the May primary and election offices were busy all across the east.

In Carteret County Pine Knoll Shores mayor Ken Jones announced he is going after fellow Republican Jean Preston's Senate seat this election year after she announced her retirement.

Jones has been mayor of Pine Knoll Shores since 2009. Since 2011, he's been serving as a Senate appointee of the eastern region economic development commission and governor's land compatibility task force.

The District 2 Senate seat includes Carteret, Craven and Pamlico Counties.

Here's a look at some of the other filings from Monday for statewide office. State Senate: Stan White (D) District 1, Jerry Evans (R) District 1, Norman Sanderson (R) District 2, Ed Jones (D) District 4, Harry Brown (R) District 6.

State House: Bill Luton (D) District 1, Bob Steinburg (R) District 1, Robert B. Clayton (D) District 3, Wayne Langston (R) District 3, Michael Speciale (R) District 3, Efton Sager (R) District 4, Annie Ward Mobley (D) District 5, Linda L. Blackburn (D) District 5, Paul Tine (D) District 6, Angela R. Bryant (D) District 7, Phillip Shepard (R) District 15, Jeff Howell (R) District 16, Jean Farmer Butterfield (D) District 24.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 139257358 -
Gray Television, Inc.