NC Senate Releases 2009-10 Committee Assignments

New faces have been added to lead the most powerful committees in the North Carolina Senate.

Senate leader Marc Basnight released committee assignments in the chamber for the next two years on Wednesday.

Democratic Sen. A.B. Swindell of Nash County has been named a co-chairman of the Senate Appropriations Committee. He joins Democratic Sens. Linda Garrou, Charlie Albertson and Charlie Dannelly as leaders of the chief budget-writing panel.

Another Democrat, Sen. Clark Jenkins of Edgecombe County, is now a Finance Committee co-chairman. He replaces the retiring Sen. John

Basnight retained a handful of Republican senators for leadership positions. Sen. Fletcher Hartsell of Cabarrus County is
the only Republican to be the sole chairman of a panel -- a
judiciary committee.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

Read Comments

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
  • by Buzz Location: Mill Creek on Feb 5, 2009 at 05:41 AM
    Dont blame me, I've been voting for Snoop dog or anyone running against him ever since wayback, he just has too many people in his pocket. Some folks think he walks on water, because he'll throw a few morcels thier way. Buzz-
  • by Anonymous on Feb 4, 2009 at 06:42 PM
    Posted by: bo Location: nc on Feb 4, 2009 at 09:25 PM Basnight is one of our problems in NC let,s get rid of him. HOW can we do this, I'm with you....
  • by bo Location: nc on Feb 4, 2009 at 06:25 PM
    Basnight is one of our problems in NC let,s get rid of him. please for the sake or our state.

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 39113332 -
Gray Television, Inc.