More Than 40 New NC Laws Begin December 1

New and more severe punishments for adults who abuse or endanger children or who fail to report malice against them are among more than 40 laws about to take effect in North Carolina.

Laws enforced starting Dec. 1 would more than double maximum prison terms for the most serious child abuse charge and create a requirement that parents alert authorities when their child under 16 is missing after 24 hours. The laws are named for preschoolers, including the late Caylee Anthony in Florida.

The legislature passed this year and Gov. Pat McCrory also signed into law new minimum $500 fines for people who fail to stop for school buses dropping off or picking up students.

New laws also reduce punishments for low-grade misdemeanors to fines in most cases.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WITN

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 233160481 - witn.com/a?a=233160481
Gray Television, Inc.