Mayoral Races From Across The East

Mayor races across Eastern Carolina where winners have been declared.

In Carteret County, Morehead City Mayor Jerry Jones was re-elected. He beat challenger David Horton 52% to 48%.

In Belhaven In Beaufort County incumbent Mayor Adam O'Neal easily beat challenger Ronald Winfield 61% to 39%.

In Kill Devil Hills...challenger Sheila Davies beat incumbent Raymond Sturza 65% to 35%.

Brien Lassiter has been elected mayor of Ahoskie with 45% of the vote.

In Richlands McKinley Smith has been elected mayor with 50% of the vote.

On Cape Carteret incumbent Mayor Ron Harkless was defeated by challenger Dave Fowler 56% to 44%.

Dale Sowers is elected Mayor of Peletier in Carteret County with 72% of the vote.

Hermea Pugh Sr. is elected mayor of Cofield in Hertford County with 66% of the vote.

Owen Strickland is elected mayor in Bailey in Nash County with 78% of the vote.

In Ayden Steve Tripp won with 67% of the vote.

David Boyd was elected mayor in Simpson with 52% of the vote.

Jackie Swinson was elected mayor in Greenevers in Duplin County beating Clifton Williams by just one vote, 49 to 48.

Dannie Flanary was elected Hobgood Mayor with 68% of the vote.

Leonard Bunting is elected Mayor of Scotland Neck with 59% of the vote.

Carol Sykes has been elected Mayor of Pink Hill with 50% of the vote.

Tommy Roberson has been elected mayor of Williamston with 55% of the vote.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

Read Comments

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
  • by G. Hayes on Nov 10, 2011 at 05:43 AM
    Save my prayer Aghast, there are others that need it far more than I do. It's not disdain, it's about taking personal responsibility for your actions and praying for the strength to do so. It's about stepping up, taking responsibility, helping someone out...and doing so by setting an example and not just "praying your way out of it." It amuses me how the slightest difference in religious belief is construed as shame, guilt, disdain, finger pointing, etc. Guess that's why most wars are fought over religion. The politics discussion fell off the rails here. At least we'll have 2 more years of moving forward and not the agendas, lawsuits, and slander.
  • by Christian Location: Nearby on Nov 9, 2011 at 07:16 PM
    Shame on you, G. Hayes, for showing such disdain for prayer.
  • by Aghast Location: Alien on Nov 9, 2011 at 07:04 PM
    Get a life. Good for Heath. You need prayer. I imagine Heath is praying for you and all of the other misguided citizens though you don't appreciate it. Be careful of the finger you point. Look down! Don't you see at least 3 of your own fingers pointing back at you. Get a life!!!
  • by G. Hayes Location: Belhaven on Nov 9, 2011 at 05:34 PM
    People don't sue for no reason? Wow, I guess all lawsuits are justified then!! Laughable. The people are awake, this is why they're not voting for someone that is suing them, the taxpayers. As for prayer, Heath tried that idea when she was on the council, and we took care of her in 2007! Whenever someone wants to run for office without their own personal agenda getting in the way...we the voters are ready to consider it!
  • by Aghast Location: Alien on Nov 9, 2011 at 05:07 PM
    People don't sue for no reason. Why did the citizen sue the town and town officials? Why is the town footing the entire bill when there is a personal lawsuit involved. Wake up, People!
  • by Perplexed Location: Bewildered on Nov 9, 2011 at 02:24 PM
    How could the mayoral race have been a landslide in Belhaven when only one-third of the votes cast were for the mayor's position? Thus, the incumbent only received about one-third of the total votes cast. Why would nearly one of the people voting not cast a vote for the mayoral candidate of their choice? Belhaven needs prayer right now!!! Laughing 2, you are in need of serious counseling. Please dial 911 immediately and ask for assistance as you are a danger to yourself.
  • by G. Hayes Location: Belhaven on Nov 9, 2011 at 02:12 PM
    Belhaven politics are always amusing. At least the outcome was just. Not sure how Fisher expected to win when she was suing the town and spreading viscous rumors at the same time. This isn't the first time the voters told them they're not interested!
  • by laughing 2 Location: belhaven on Nov 9, 2011 at 11:38 AM
    Ellen Allens group of losers has kept their record intact, a perfect o-4! Even with an Obama look a like Mayorial candidate they fall again in embarrassing fashion. Please get a life, preferably somewhere else.
  • by Laughing Location: Belhaven on Nov 9, 2011 at 10:33 AM
    The Ellen Allen crowd loses again in Belhaven!! I am sooo disappointed, and I mean that from the bottom of my sarcastic heart!!!
  • by Nicole Location: Simpson on Nov 9, 2011 at 09:35 AM
    Not happy! Change is needed in Simpson and Boyd needed to go...yes, something does smell fishy for sure, as usual with him involved!!!
  • Page:

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 133498708 -
Gray Television, Inc.