Farmers Get Assistance After Hurricane Irene

Governor Beverly Perdue announced Saturday that she has secured disaster assistance for farmers in 42 North Carolina counties.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture is providing Farm Service Agency emergency loan assistance to farmers who suffered losses during Hurricane Irene. The loans are a result of the disaster declaration requested by Gov. Perdue on Aug. 29 and approved by President Obama.

The counties designated for assistance are: Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Franklin, Gates, Granville, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Robeson, Sampson, Tyrrell, Vance, Wake, Warren, Washington, Wayne, and Wilson.

Gov. Perdue has also requested an expedited disaster declaration by Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack, who toured crop damage with Perdue last week. Such a declaration would allow for additional assistance for uninsured crops and restoration of damaged farmland.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

Read Comments

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
  • by ME on Sep 11, 2011 at 09:50 AM
    Ishould have been a farmer

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 129588943 -
Gray Television, Inc.