FEMA Deadline Extension Ends July 5

Eligible homeowners, renters and business owners in 20 North Carolina counties have four days to apply for federal disaster funds after the April 16 tornadoes.

Several of those eligible counties are in Eastern Carolina. Residents in Bertie, Craven, Currituck, Greene, Halifax, Hertford, Onslow, Pitt, Tyrrell and Wilson counties have until July 5 to register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

FEMA officials extended the original June 20 deadline at the request of North Carolina Emergency Management officials.

To register for FEMA assistance, call 800-621-FEMA (3362).

Previous Story:

The federal government has extended the deadline for April 16th tornado victims to get storm help.

FEMA has given victims 15 more days to register for federal disaster assistance. The previous deadline was Monday, while the new one is July 5th.

"There are numerous homeowners and renters who have told us they need help, but have not returned the SBA loan applications they received when they registered with FEMA," said NCEM Director Doug Hoell. "We think this is an indication that they just need more time."

As of June 20, more than 9,400 people in the 19 designated counties had registered with FEMA for disaster assistance. To register for FEMA assistance, call 800-621-FEMA (3362).

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 124291329 - witn.com/a?a=124291329
Gray Television, Inc.