ECU's Young Named 6th Man-Of-The-Year

EL PASO, Texas --- East Carolina senior guard Brock Young was chosen as the 2011 Conference USA Sixth Man-of-the-Year in a voting by the league's 12 head coaches and a selected panel of media members conference officials announced Tuesday.

In addition to Young as Sixth Man-of-the-Year, Marshall's DeAndre Kane was tabbed Freshman-of-the-Year, SMU's Papa Dia was chosen Defensive Player-of-the-Year and Tulsa's Scottie Haralson was selected Newcomer-of-the-Year.

Young is the first ECU player to receive one of Conference USA's top postseason awards. Previous winners of the Sixth Man-of-the-Year award include Cincinnati's Jason Maxiell (2002), Marquette's Steve Novak (2003), UAB's Ronell Taylor (2005) and Memphis' Jeremy Hunt (2008). The award has been given every season since the conference's inception in 1996.

Young had started 61 consecutive games before becoming the Pirates' top reserve in 2010-11. He played in 28 games this season, coming off the bench 22 times and was the first substitute 15 times.

He is averaging 9.9 points and 4.5 assists per game this season. Young is one of 24 players in East Carolina history to score 1,000 points and one of only six players in school history to score more than 1,200 points.

This past Saturday against UAB, he became the sixth player in Conference USA lore to distribute more than 600 career assists (602). Earlier this season Young handed out his 100th assist of the year to become the first player in school history to hit the century mark for helpers three consecutive seasons.

Young and his ECU teammates are preparing for the 2011 Buick C-USA Championship, opening play Wednesday morning as the No. 8 seed with a first round matchup against No. 9 UCF at 11:00 a.m. MST (1 p.m. EST). The Pirates swept the two-game regular season series from the Knights this year.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 117601144 -
Gray Television, Inc.