15 More Counties Added To Federal Disaster List

Fifteen more counties have been added to the federal disaster list in North Carolina, bringing the total now to 33 counties that have been approved for individual assistance.

Governor Perdue announced Sunday that Gates, Hertford, Johnston, Northampton, Vance, Bertie, Brunswick, Camden, Chowan, Duplin, Edgecombe, Martin, New Hanover, Pasquotank and Perquimans will be added.

The counties previously approved for individual assistance are: Beaufort, Carteret, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Greene, Halifax, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Nash, Onslow, Pamlico, Pitt, Tyrrell, Warren, Washington and Wilson.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency provides two types of assistance. Individual assistance aids families and businesses, while public assistance helps with community recovery costs, such as clearing debris and repairing public facilities.

In the past few days, Gov. Perdue has secured public assistance for 29 counties. That federal disaster declaration enables those counties to seek aid covering the costs of storm response, debris removal and infrastructure repairs.

Those counties are: Beaufort, Bertie, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Greene, Halifax, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Nash, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell, Wayne and Wilson.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 129190443 - witn.com/a?a=129190443
Gray Television, Inc.