Tornado Disaster Centers Open In Three Counties

More Video...

Three weeks after EF2 tornadoes picked up homes and ripped roofs off costing millions of dollars in damage, disaster loan outreach centers are now open and victims started lining up for help.

One disaster loan outreach center was set up at the Beaufort County Health Department.

Dozens of folks were there within the first hour seeing what type and how much help they could get from the state since FEMA aid was denied last week.

Disaster victims are able to apply for low-interest loans and if they aren't approved, can receive grants up to $32,000.

There's also volunteer organizations that will provide free labor that will help stretch those dollars even more.

Officials say homeowners can receive up to $240,000 to replace or repair their homes, While renters can receive up to $40,000 in loans.

In order to apply for a loan you need before and after photos of damage and two estimates of the damage.

The SBA also requires proof of residence, home ownership, insurance and identification.

The disaster loan outreach centers will be open Saturday at 9:00 a.m. then again on the 19th through the 23rd.


Disaster Loan Outreach Centers will open in three counties Friday to help those impacted by the April 25th tornadoes that struck Eastern Carolina.

The state says storm victims in Beaufort, Chowan, Pasquotank, and Perquimans counties can now apply for low interest loans and grants. That money would help repair homes and businesses, as well as replacing personal property lost.

While FEMA opted not to declare the four counties federal disaster areas, the U.S. Small Business Administration will offer low interest loans. Homeowners could get up to $240,000 to repair or replace homes and some personal belongings, renters up to $40,000, and business owners up to $2 million.

Those that don't qualify for SBA loans may be eligible for state funds to help them recover.

In Beaufort County, the Outreach Center will be located at the county Health Department on Highland Drive. In Pasquotank County, the center will be at the Cooperative Extension Office on McPherson Street in Elizabeth City, while another center for Perquimans County will be at the Albemarle Commission Building, 512 South Church Street in Hertford.

The centers will be open May 16th & 17th, and May 19-23 from 9:00 a.m. To 6:00 p.m.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 259385001 -
Gray Television, Inc.