NC House Republicans Select Leaders

The expanded House Republican Caucus at the North Carolina General Assembly has made its leadership choices after picking Thom Tillis last month as its nominee to remain speaker for another two years.

Party leaders met at High Point University on Saturday. The caucus named Rep. Paul Stam of Apex as its nominee for speaker pro tempore. Stam is in his seventh term. Rep. Edgar Starnes of Granite Falls was elected as caucus majority leader. Rep. Mike Hager of Rutherfordton was chosen majority whip.

Rep. Ruth Samuelson of Charlotte was chosen to the newly created post of House Republican Conference leader. House GOP freshman chose Rep.-elect Rick Catlin of New Hanover as freshman leader, and Rep.-elect Dean Arp of Union County was elected Republican Freshman Whip.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 183668891 -
Gray Television, Inc.