Meredith, Davenport Top Vote Getters In Beaufort County Sheriff's Race

In a crowded field of candidates for the Beaufort County Sheriff's race, neither the Democratic winner nor Republican winner got 40% of the vote, meaning the second place finishers could request a runoff.

On the Republican side, Harry Meredith won with 1, 620 votes. Ernie Coleman came in second with 1,582 votes, followed by Donald Dixon with 961 and Rick Guthrie with 139.

The Beaufort County Board of Elections says the winner needed 1,721 to prevent the second place candidate from requesting a runoff.

On the Democratic side, Russell Davenport was the winner with 1, 651 votes. Al J. Whitney came in second with 1,606 votes, followed by Todd Alligood with 906, Gary Blount with 108 and Val Scales with 101.

The Beaufort County Board of Elections says the winner needed 1,749 to prevent the second place finisher from requesting a runoff.

Current Sheriff Alan Jordan did not seek re-election.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 258216541 -
Gray Television, Inc.