Boating Fees About To Go Up In NC


Life on the water is about to get more expensive for boat owners as boat fees are set to increase in less than two weeks.

Starting October 1st, Law 58 will take effect in North Carolina.

For boats under 26 feet long, registration fees for one year will be $30.00.

For boats over 26 feet, fees will be $50.00 a year.

The current fees are a flat rate, regardless of boat size: $15.00 for one year and $40.00 for three.

Another addition: commercial vessels, which were previously exempt from paying boat fees, are now required to pay up as well.

Boat owner Justin Keith says, "Men and women in North Carolina are trying to earn a living out of the water, and every bit of taxes and increase in fees that you put on them is a tremendous burden."

Keith says he and other boaters are mainly angry about the process our state government took to get the law passed by putting it in the state's budget.

He says they kept the increases under the radar instead of being forthright and open. He says many boaters are still unaware, and the law takes effect in just 12 days.


Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WITN

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 224333961 - witn.com/a?a=224333961