Burr Loses Senate Leadership Vote

By: Tom Skinner
By: Tom Skinner

Senate Republicans today chose Lamar Alexander of Tennessee to be their third-ranking leader, turning aside North Carolina Senator Richard Burr.

Alexander was elected chairman of the Republican Conference in a
secret ballot vote in a closed meeting.

He replaces Arizona Senator Jon Kyle, who was unopposed in moving up to the second highest post of Republican whip. Kyl replaces Mississippi Senator Trent Lott, who is resigning from the Senate.

Burr is considered more conservative than Alexander.

Alexander was elected to the Senate in 2002 after two terms as
Tennessee governor and a stint as U.S. secretary of education.

Burr was elected in 2004, after 10 years in the House.

Kentucky Senator Mitch McConnell remains the Senate Republican

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 12203476 - witn.com/a?a=12203476
Gray Television, Inc.