Lawmakers Form Drought Committee

The General Assembly has created a new committee to study the drought and determine whether a better response is needed, particularly to help North Carolina farmers.

Senate leader Marc Basnight and House Speaker Joe Hackney
created the Joint Select Committee on the Agricultural Drought
Response. The 20 panel members will evaluate what governments,
farming groups and other entities are doing to reduce damage caused
by extended dry conditions.

The committee is supposed to report back to the full Legislature
before the May session begins with recommendations for now and for
future droughts.

In the Senate, the co-chairmen are Charlie Albertson of Duplin
County and Steve Goss of Watagua County. The House co-chairs are
Ray Rapp of Madison County and Arthur Williams of Beaufort County.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 11870461 -
Gray Television, Inc.