Stimulus Allocates $2.7 million For First District Public Safety

Congressman G. K. Butterfield said that federal stimulus package directs more than $2.7 million into policing efforts across his district.

Butterfield says the funding will help bridge some of the gaps and keep police officers on the job.

Grants may be used to provide personnel, equipment, training, technical assistance, and information systems for more widespread apprehension, prosecution, adjudication, detention, and rehabilitation of offenders who violate such state and local laws. Grants also may be used to provide assistance to victims of these offenders.

The funds were distributed according to a formula calculated by the federal Bureau of Justice Statistics. Under the law, 60% of each state's allocation is awarded to the state and 40% must be sent to local government.

The following cities, towns and counties that are part of the First Congressional District were awarded formula funding through the program:

Ahoskie $20,305
Beaufort County $62,042
Bertie County $10,904
Craven County $81,595
Edenton $14,101
Edgecombe County $40,046
Elizabeth City $75,767
Farmville $21,245
Goldsboro $181,427
Greene County $31,021
Greenville $340,669
Halifax County $59,410
Havelock $33,653
Hertford County $24,065
Jones County $13,913
Kinston $153,226
La grange $17,297
Lenoir County $68,435
Martin County $25,757
Nash County $38,354
New Bern $86,483
Northampton County $23,313
Pasquotank County $22,937
Pitt county $149,654
Plymouth $41,550
Roanoke Rapids $59,410
Rocky Mount $326,381
Scotland Neck $19,741
Tarboro $28,577
Washington $40,234
Wayne County $90,432
Williamston $35,157
Wilson $164,318
Wilson County $47,942

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus

275 E. Arlington Blvd. Greenville, NC 27858 252-439-7777
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 41127042 -
Gray Television, Inc.