UPSETS: Several Incumbents Lost In Eastern Carolina's Election

There were several upsets in Eastern Carolina this Decision 2012.

Incumbent Marian McLawhorn was beaten by challenger Brian Brown in the NC State House District 8 race. McLawhorn, a Democrat, will finish her seventh term before Brown takes the seat.

Incumbent Lonnie Carraway was beaten by challenger Ericka James in the District Judge 8 race.

Incumbent Cheryl Spencer was beaten by Clinton Rowe in the District Judge 3b Spencer seat.

Republican incumbent Jay McRoy was not among the top four vote-getters in the Beaufort County Commissioners race.

Democratic incumbent Norman Cherry was edged out by Republican John Trent in the Bertie County Comissioner District 4 election.

Republican Tom Coulson defeated Democrat incumbent Ephraigm Smith in the Pitt County Commissioner race in District B.

In the Hyde County Commissioner race in Lake Landing Township, Republican Earl Pugh defeated incumbent Democrat Sharon Spencer.

Democrat Craig Hill defeated Republican incumbent Tony Pharo in the Lenoir County Commissioners race in District 3.