ONSLOW COUNTY: Curfews In Place

Jacksonville will enact a curfew because of the hurricane.

That curfew will be in effect from 2:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Saturday. Businesses will not be allowed to stay open during that curfew.

The police department is issuing re-entry passes for business operators, with only one pass issued per business. City hall will close at 5:00 p.m. as scheduled.

Swansboro has a curfew from 12:01 a.m. Saturday morning and ending at 9:00 a.m. Sunday. (Surf City has a curfew starting at 8:00 p.m. Friday.)

Onslow County is under a state of emergency.

A curfew will be in effect for Onslow County beginning at 12:01 AM Saturday, August 27 continuing through Sunday, August 28 at 9:00 AM. Citizens are reminded to remain off of roadways and exercise
extreme caution.

Officials are calling for voluntary evacuations for residents living in low lying and vulnerable areas within the unincorporated areas of Onslow County due to hurricane force winds, storm surge, and
localized flooding.

The American Red Cross opened shelters at 3:00 PM on Friday, August 26. Shelter locations are: Dixon Middle School, Southwest Middle School, Swansboro High School, White Oak High School, Richlands High School, and Jacksonville Commons Middle School.

Residents evacuating to shelters are reminded to bring necessary items with them including medications, personal items, clothing, bedding, and pillows. Jacksonville Commons Middle School will serve as a “pet friendly” shelter. Pets must be crated and
pet owners should also bring food for their pets with them.

Onslow County Government offices closed at 3:00 PM on Friday and remained closed through Sunday. Area cities and towns will issue their own notices regarding evacuations and closings in surrounding
cities and towns. The Albert J. Ellis Airport will remain open as long as conditions are safe for aircraft operations. Passengers are urged to contact the airlines directly for flight status and updates, as well as to make changes to tickets.

The Onslow County Emergency Operations Center is activated.

Citizens should contact the Onslow County Emergency Services Citizens Phone Bank with additional questions at (910) 989-5027.