Retiring Beaufort County Sheriff Won't Make Endorsement In November Race

Retiring Beaufort County Sheriff Alan Jordan says he will not make an endorsement in the sheriff's race this fall.

In Tuesday's runoff, voters picked Al Whitney on the Democratic side, while Republicans nominated Ernie Coleman. Coleman is a retired state trooper, and Whitney is a current juvenile court counselor.

The two men defeated candidates with ties to the current sheriff. Harry Meredith is a retired chief deputy, while Russell Davenport is a current captain.

When he announced his retirement in February, Jordan endorsed Davenport as his successor.

Jordan told WITN's Brendan King that he is not endorsing a particular candidate after Tuesday's results. He said he is making sure his team continues to serve the people of Beaufort County and creates a smooth transition for whoever becomes the next sheriff.

Previous Story

We now know who the candidates will be for the Beaufort County Sheriff's race in the fall following a runoff primary Tuesday.

On the Democratic side, Al Whitney beat Russell Davenport.

Whitney had 2,274 votes. Davenport had 1,631.

On the Republican side, Ernie Coleman beat Harry Meredith.

Coleman had 1,550 votes. Meredith had 1,095.

Whitney and Coleman will now face each other in the general election in November.

The winner will replace Sheriff Alan Jordan who did not seek reelection.


The November ballots should soon be finally set for a handful of races in the east. The runoff from the May primary is Tuesday.

Beaufort County voters will have the chance to determine the candidates in both parties for Beaufort County Sheriff. Current Sheriff Alan Jordan did not run for re-election.

On the Democratic side, it's Russell Davenport versus Al Whitney. On the Republican side, Ernie Coleman is facing Harry Meredith. These four survived the crowded nine-candidate primary in May.

Also to be decided today is the Democratic candidate for N.C. House District 23 race. District 23 covers parts of both Martin and Edgecombe counties. Shelly Willingham of Rocky Mount is running against Russell Holderness of Tarboro. The seat is currently held by Democrat Joe Tolson, who did not run for another term.

The polls close at 7:30 p.m.

Winning candidates will move on to be included in the main Election Day on November 4.

For a complete list of voter profiles, visit

Previous Story
One stop early voting for the 2nd primary runoff elections begins Thursday.

Counties in the east voters can choose candidates from include Beaufort, Edgecombe and Martin.

Some of the races being decided include both Republican and Democratic candidates for Beaufort County Sheriff. Voters can also select the Democratic candidate for State House District 23 for Martin and Edgecombe Counties.

Early voting for the 2nd primary runoff elections starts Thursday and continues through July 12.

Election Day for the runoff elections is July 15.

For a complete list of voter profiles, visit