UPDATE: McCrory Unveils Transition Team In Raleigh Visit

North Carolina Gov.-elect Pat McCrory has filled his transition team with former elected officials and Charlotte allies to help ramp-up his administration before he takes the oath of office in January.

McCrory unveiled transition staff members Thursday at a news conference in a Raleigh state government building. Former Charlotte City Council member John Lassiter is the senior chairman of transition operations, while Thomas Stith is the transition director. Stith works at a private enterprise center at UNC-Chapel Hill.

The former Charlotte mayor also defended the involvement of Raleigh businessman Art Pope, who will be one of three transition co-chairmen. Pope is a retail company executive who's been a lightning rod for Democrats because his family companies or foundation has given large amounts of money to conservative groups and political committees.

A list of key leaders on North Carolina Gov.-elect Pat McCrory's transition team announced Thursday:

-- John Lassiter, chairman of transition operations oversight. Former Charlotte city council member and Charlotte-Mecklenburg school board member and mayoral candidate.

-- Ed McMahan, co-chairman of transition operations oversight. Chief executive of Charlotte architectural firm and former N.C. House member and Republican National Committee member.

-- Art Pope, co-chairman of transition operations oversight. Chief executive of Variety Wholesalers Inc., head of John William Pope Foundation and former state House member from Raleigh.

-- Mike Smith, co-chairman of transition operations oversight. President of Kane Realty Corp. in Raleigh.

-- Johnathan Rhyne, transition general counsel. Former House minority leader, attorney at Lincolnton law firm.

-- Thomas Stith, transition director. Leader at Frank Hawkins Kenan Institute of Private Enterprise at UNC-Chapel Hill and former Durham City Council member.

-- John Baldwin, deputy transition director. Chief of staff for Labor Commissioner Cherie Berry since 2001, former chief of staff to then-House Speaker Harold Brubaker.

-- Kelly Nicholson, policy director. UNC Health Care System executive, former senior policy adviser to state Senate leader Phil Berger.

-- Tony Almeida, economic development director. Retired Duke Energy Corp. executive.

Other senior advisers or honorary team members include Republican former Govs. Jim Holshouser and Jim Martin; ex-Lt. Gov. Jim Gardner; former U.S. Rep. Charles Taylor; ex-House Speaker Joe Mavretic; McCrory campaign adviser Jack Hawke; Former Ambassador Aldona Wos; and B&C Associates chief executive Robert Brown.

(Copyright 2012 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)


We encourage commenting on our stories to give you a chance to express your opinion. We rely upon the online community to report abuse. Repeat violators may be banned from posting comments. CLICK HERE for the witn.com guidelines for posting comments. powered by Disqus